Crisis In Telangana Congress Deepens As 12 Leaders Quit Party

Twelve members of the Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee resigned from the party, citing that more than 50 percent of the PCC members are leaders who have recently joined from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), news agency ANI reported.

This disappointed leaders who had worked in the Congress for the past six years, according to the resignation letters.

In their resignation letters, the aggrieved members also pointed out that Telangana CM Chandrashekar Rao is running a “dictatorial rule” in the state and added that there is a need for a strong fight to remove the CM.

The letter also contained allegations by former state president N Uttam Kumar Reddy that more than 50 per cent of the PCC members are newly joined leaders from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP). A resignation letter was sent to All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Malikarjun Kharge. The resignation letter was sent to AICC secretary and Telangana in-charge Manickam Tagore.

Read also | Karnataka: Congress leaders protest after unveiling Savarkar’s portrait in assembly

The IANS report says that state leader Revanth Reddy’s team plans to counter allegations made by senior leaders that the party executive has recently expressed displeasure with them for filling the party executive with TDP migrants.

As reported, the group wants to emphasize that the accusations made by the dissidents will weaken the organization. In another development, the central leadership of the party has taken a serious view of what happened in the unitary state. AICC secretaries-in-charge are reported to be in touch with dissident leaders. Some leaders of the Center are likely to meet with the dissident group on Monday.

Senior party leaders, who have been with the party since the beginning of their respective political careers, on Saturday said they are launching a ‘Save Congress in Telangana’ movement to protect what they described as a leader who joined the party in the Congress. after switching allegiances from party to party.

The meeting of senior leaders was held at the residence of Vikramarka Congress Parliamentary Party leader Mallu Bhatti. Former state president N Uttam Kumar Reddy, MLA T Jagga Reddy, Madhu Yashki Goud, Damodar Rajnarasimha and A. Maheshwar Reddy were among those who attended the meeting.

(with contributions from agencies)

Leave a Comment