Dodda Ganesh Lashes Out at RCB for Buying ‘Unknown’ Himanshu Sharma Instead of Karnataka’s Shreyas Gopal

Last update: 23 December 2022, 20:35 IST

IPL: Royal Challengers Bangalore's Himanshu Sharma (Twitter/RCB)

IPL: Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Himanshu Sharma (Twitter/RCB)

Royal Challengers Bangalore bought Himanshu Sharma for a base price of Rs 20 lakh in the 2023 Indian Premier League auction

Former Indian cricketer Dodda Ganesh took to social media to criticize Royal Challengers Bangalore for buying Himanshu Sharma instead of Karnataka’s Shreyas Gopal.

“You bid for an unknown leggie Himanshu Sharma but you don’t bid for Karnataka’s proven match winner Shreyas Gopal. Typical RCB,” he tweeted.

Follow IPL 2023 auction live here | Watch Live

Malolan Rangarajan, RCB’s Head of Scouting and Fielding Coach, defended the decision, saying the move vindicates their scouting process.

“It is a very effective and good time to talk about our process, what we have in our curriculum from a Scouting perspective, we have something known as hinterland scouting. And we first identified him a year ago and have been tracking him ever since. And this year, we have invited him and he has given us a very good opportunity using our coach, Sanjay Banger and our batting and spin bowling coaches, to test the pressure,” he said.

“Himanshu is exciting because he is from Rajasthan. He is a club cricketer and has not played any competitive cricket. But he is very skilled. And we are also looking to the future, but knowing that it is still good, and that we can develop it as a leg spinner. He is a leg spinner with the ability to go both ways. ok And it comes out of our intelligence scouting, as I said, one of the many divisions of our scouting, but really we have your home scouting, you inspect scouting and the hinterland is the other one. So it’s nice to see that someone has come from there now,” he added.

Apart from Himanshu Sharma who was bought for 20 lakhs, RCB have bought Will Jacks (3.2 crores), Reece Topley (1.9 crores), Rajan Kumar (70 lakhs), Avinash Singh (60 lakhs), Manoj Bhandage. (Rs 20 Lakh) and Sonu Yadav (Rs 20 Lakh0.

Get latest Cricket news, schedule and Cricket Live scores here

Leave a Comment