Kerala: 51 special trains to be operated to cater to Christmas-New Year rush

Indian Railways has announced that they will run 51 special trains serving the state of Kerala during the Christmas/New Year season.

In a statement, Southern Railway announced 17 special train services to different parts of Kerala to cater to the extra rush of passengers for the Christmas-New Year season.

Southern Railway announced 17 special train services to different parts of Kerala and the remaining trains will run from other areas.

“Apart from the special trains notified by Southern Railway, other zonal railways have notified a total of 34 services to Kerala — 22 special trains by South Central Railway, eight special trains by South Western Railway and four special trains by East Coast Railway- k. “According to Indian Railways announcement.

These special trains will operate from December 22, 2022 to January 2, 2023. Southern Railways has announced that the booking of these trains has started.

Thiruvananthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor on Tuesday criticized the Railway Ministry for not heeding the demand of people during the season and sought the intervention of Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw.

“Keralites are shocked that @indianrailway__ has not announced a special train this year for the annual Christmas/New Year rush. With a large number of people living and working outside the state, this need has always been recognized! What happened, @AshwiniVaishnaw,” Tharoor tweeted.

Kerala Christmas Special Trains:

Trains between Tambaram _ Tirunelveli – Chennai Egmore

Trains between Ernakulam Jn and Dr MGR Chennai Central

T.No.06041 Tambaram-Nagercoil SuperFast Special on 23rd December 2022 – Bookings Open

Stops at Chengalpattu, Villupuram, Vriddhachalam, Trichy Jn, Dindigul, Madurai, Virudhunagar, Satur, Kovilpatti, Tirunelveli & Valliyur.

List of other special trains:

Catch business news, market news, breaking news and breaking news updates from Live Mint. Download The Mint News app for daily market updates.

More Less

Leave a Comment