M K Pranesh elected as Deputy Chairperson of Karnataka Legislative Council

Udayavani Group, 23 Dec 2022, 15:27 IST

Image Courtesy: Twitter/Basavaraj S Bommai

Belagavi: MK Pranesh is elected as the Deputy Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Council.

In the election for Deputy Speaker held today (December 23), Pranesh got 39 votes while Congress candidate Aravind Kumar Arali got 26 votes.

However, JDS MPs did not vote.

Pranesh Kota was recommended by BJP leaders Srinivas Poojary, S Rudregowda, Talwar Sabanna and Arun DS.

Aravind was recommended by Congress leader BK Hariprasad.

Meanwhile, taking to Twitter, Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai tweeted, “Heartily congratulates Sri MK Pranesh on being elected Deputy Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Council. I wish your experience will improve the functioning of the House.”

Legislative Council strength is BJP – 39, Congress – 26, JDS – 8 and Independent – 2.

Leave a Comment