MCD Results 2022: AAP establishes its own ‘double engine’ rule but short of big sweep

MCD election results 2022, MCD polls, MCD news, arvind kejriwal
Image source: ANI Delhi CM and AAP’s Arvind Kejriwal said his party would win more than 200 constituencies in the MCD elections.

MCD Results 2022: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has demolished the 15-year reign of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). In a massive race for Delhi’s civic body, the Arvind Kejriwal-led party reasserted its rule over the MCD, thus establishing its “twin engine” administration. AAP also has the government in Delhi.

MCD Elections 2022: FULL COVERAGE | MCD Elections 2022: Ward-wise results

According to the results of all 250 constituencies, BJP won 104, AAP 134, Congress 9 and others in 3 seats. Results show huge gains for AAP; on the other hand, the BJP has not held its fort, despite a vigorous campaign, the saffron party unleashed a battery of Union ministers to conduct citizen polls.

ALSO READ: MCD gets first transgender councilor as AAP’s Bobby wins Sultanpuri

AAP convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had earlier said that his party would win 230 constituencies. However, the party had to settle for much less than what it had promised. The party’s victory in the MCD elections will strengthen its hold in Delhi and it would make it much more difficult for the BJP to turn things around in the national capital. The Congress, which was considered a Delhi stronghold, has been relegated to a distant third place, thanks to the leadership’s lack of vision. The results of this election could have ramifications far beyond the nation’s capital.

While the BJP and AAP left nothing to do in the MCD poll campaign, senior Congress leaders were nowhere to suggest that the old party had given it to the other two players.

The high-stakes elections for the 250 wards of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) were held on December 4, with the fate of 1,349 candidates sealed in the voting machines. A 50.48% turnout was recorded in the elections.

Leave a Comment