Panchayat Member Travelling With Ex-Minister MR Vijayabhaskar Abducted On Election Day, Later Dropped Off In TN’s Natham

Chennai: A tense situation prevailed in Dindigul district after a mob attacked former AIADMK minister MR Vijayabhaskar Karur district panchayat committee member Thiruvikka near Nagamaptti in Vedasandur and attacked a vehicle. The gang also broke the windows of the cars and kidnapped Thiruvikka.

The incident took place on the day the election of vice president village panchayat of Karur district was scheduled as per the order of the court.

According to The New Indian Express, former minister Vijayabhaskar was escorting Thiruvikka from Dindigul to Karur.

In Karur, Thiruvikka was scheduled to vote in the vice-presidential election on Monday. However, he was kidnapped and later released in the evening. The police then rescued her from Natham.

After the incident, AIADMK members blamed the DMK for the abduction.

ALSO READ: ‘Blue For Business’: Twitter rolls out new program for key employees to identify brands

The election of the village panchayat vice president in Karur district was crucial as the AIADMK and DMK have six members in the panchayat committee. As a result, Thiruvikka’s vote was decisive in deciding the final winner.

Earlier, the Madurai bench of the Madras High Court ordered the State Election Commission to hold the poll on Monday. The MHC also directed the SEC not to declare the result until further orders.

After the abduction, Thiruvikka’s lawyer D Krishnakumar and R Vijayakumar briefed the court about the incident on Monday.

The judges said they would hear the case on Thursday.

Talking to New Indian Express, Dindigul Superintendent of Police V Baskaran said that Thiruvikka informed them that the four miscreants targeted the vehicle, threatened to enter the vehicle and then crashed it.

He said that the police did not find any signs of a forced abduction. Further research is underway.

READ ALSO: Same-sex marriage would wreak havoc, 2 judges can’t decide: BJP’s Sushil Modi in Rajya Sabha

Leave a Comment