Polling underway in Telangana’s Munugode assembly constituency bypoll

Voting was taking place amid tight security for the bypoll in Telangana’s Munugode Assembly constituency on Thursday. Voting started at 7 am and will continue until 6 am.

More than 2.41 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the elections.

There are a total of 298 polling stations and web casting would be done from all of them. In total, 105 booths have been identified as “critical”.

The Election Commission has made detailed arrangements for the polls, including the deployment of 3,366 state police and 15 companies of central security personnel.

The inquiry was necessitated by the resignation of Congress MLA Komatireddy Raj Gopal Reddy. He has joined the BJP and is seeking re-election.

While 47 candidates are in the fray, the main contest is narrowed down to Raj Gopal Reddy (BJP), former MLA Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy of TRS and Palvai Sravanthi of Congress.

The poll has assumed critical political significance as the winner would have an edge over others ahead of next year’s Legislative Assembly polls in Telangana.

(Only the headline and photo for this report have been updated by Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is generated automatically from a syndicated feed.)

Subscribe to Business Standard Premium

Exclusive stories, curated newsletters, 26 years of archives, e-paper and more!

Leave a Comment