Sports News | Karnataka Gain Upper Hand Against Puducherry

Bangaluru, Dec 20 (PTI) Eight-time champions Karnataka put in an all-out effort to bowl out Puducherry for 170 and then reach 111 on the opening day to narrowly win their Ranji Trophy Group C match on Tuesday.

Choosing to field, the Karnataka bowlers were right on the money as the right-arm pace trio of Vidwath Kaverappa (4/52), Vijaykumar Vysha (3/39) and Ronit More (2/34) shared nine wickets to dismantle Puducherry’s batting line-up. up.

Read also | Chennai Super Kings have announced the 7th edition of the Junior Super Kings Inter-School T20 Tournament, which will start from December 26.

Leg-spinner Shreay Gopal (1/5) was the other wicket.

Puducherry were never in control of their innings once they were sent in, losing wickets time and time again without getting any notable partnerships that would have helped them post a decent first innings.

Read also | West Indies captain Hayley Matthews enters pole position in the ICC Women’s T20I All-Rounder Rankings.

Skipper Damodaran Rohit (44) top scored for Puducherry while Kothandapani Aravind (20) and Sridhar Ashwath (20) also scored some runs before being bowled in 54 overs.

In reply, opener Ravikumar Samarth remained unbeaten on 59, while skipper Mayank Agarwal made 51 as Karanataka ended the day’s proceedings at 111 for 1.

More Night Watch-man has not opened his account yet.

Karnataka still trail Puducherry by 59 runs in their first innings with nine wickets in hand.

In another Group C match in Jaipur, India international Deepak Hooda hit 133 off 187 balls, Salman Khan (62 not out) and Yash Kothari (58) also contributed with the bat as Rajasthan were bowled out for 310 in 87 balls on the opening day. against Kerala.

For Kerala, Jalaj Saxena picked up two wickets for 74 runs.

Short scores:

At Bengaluru: Puducherry 170 all out in 54 overs (Damodaran Rohit 44; Vidwath Kaverappa 4/52) vs Karnataka 111 for 1 in 32 overs (Ravikumar Samarth 59 not out, Mayank Agarwak 51; Ankit Sharma 1/8).

At Jaipur: Rajsathan 310 for 5 off 87 (Deepak Hooda 133, Salman Khan 62 not out, Yash Kothari 58; Jalaj Saxena 2/74) vs Kerala.

At Jamshedpur: Jharkhand 280 for 4 in 90 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 65 not out, Kumar Kushagra 60 not out; Darshan Misal 2/59) vs Goa.

New Delhi: Services 213 all out in 60.1 overs (Anshul Gupta 71, Devender Lochab 53; Ravi Kiran 5/44) vs Chhattisgarh 9 not out in 3 overs. PTI SSC

(This is an unedited, auto-generated story from the Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the body of the content)

Leave a Comment