Telangana’s ruling TRS appears to be heading for victory in Munugode bypoll

The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party seemed to be heading for a victory in the Munugode bypoll, which has so far secured 88,7167 votes after 13 counting in Telangana on Sunday.

Thursday’s poll was necessitated because ruling MLA Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy resigned from the Congress in August to join the BJP. Reddy contested the election on BJP ticket against TRS Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy and Palvai Sravanthi daughter of Palvai Govardhan Reddy and 47 candidates.

TRS MLA Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy is all set to win the polls. TRS candidate Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy secured 82,025 votes after 12 rounds, while BJP’s nearest rival Komatireddy Raj Gopal Reddy secured 74,224 votes. Congress candidate Palvai Sravanthi has received 21,243 votes.

The counting of votes started at 8 am with the counting of postal votes. Votes polled in EVMs were taken after counting of postal votes.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj, a total of 2,25,192 votes were cast in 298 polling stations recording 93.13 percent (not including postal vote).

The poll results for seven assembly seats in six states, namely Uttar Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra, Haryana, Odisha and Bihar, will be announced on Sunday.

The BJP has won Gola Gokrannath in Uttar Pradesh, Adampur in Haryana and Gopalganj in Bihar, and is leading in Dhamnagar in Odisha.

Rashtriya Janata Dal led by Tejashwi Yadav has won in Mokaman in Bihar and Shiv Sena faction led by Uddhav Thackeray has won in Andheri East seat in Mumbai.

Catch business news, market news, breaking news and breaking news updates from Live Mint. Download The Mint News app for daily market updates.

More Less

Leave a Comment