Two UoH professors bag Visitor’s Awards for technology and research

KC James Raju and Professor Surajit Dhara of the School of Physics, University of Hyderabad (UoH) have been named the best entry for the 7th Visitor Awards (President of India) 2021 in the category of Visitor Award for Technology Development and Visitor Award for Research (Physical Sciences) respectively.

This is the first time that two UoH teachers have been selected for this award in the same year. Earlier, each faculty was divided in 2018 and 2020. University Vice-Chancellor BJ Rao said that it was a historic moment that the UoH faculty was awarded two Visitor Awards in the same year and that too from the School of Physics. .

Prof. Raju did his PhD from IIT Madras and won the Best Thesis Award in the process. As part of his Ph.D., he developed Dielectric Microwave Resonators for DRDO. He joined the university in 1996, becoming the first faculty member of the Physics School’s Electronics Program. The program later became CASEST in 2014 in the School of Physics. He also received the prestigious Abdul Kalam Technology Innovation National Fellowship from the Indian Academy of Engineering for the year 2021-22.

Dr. Dhara received his PhD from Raman Research Institute, Bangalore. He has conducted inventive research and made outstanding contributions to emerging and diverse areas of liquid crystal science and technology. He was selected for the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Award in Science and Technology in 2020.

The President of India, who is the visiting Central Universities, gives the Visitor Awards every year to promote healthy competition among universities and motivate them to adopt best practices from around the world in pursuit of excellence.

Leave a Comment